Francophonie Home Banner Desktop
Francophonie Home Banner Mobile


The Francophonie is first of all women and men who share a common language, French. The latest report from the French Language Observatory, published in 2022, estimates their number at 325 million speakers, spread over five continents.

It is then an institutional mechanism dedicated to promoting French and implementing political, educational, economic and cultural cooperation within the 88 states and governments of the International Organization of the Francophonie (OIF). This system is set by the Charter of the Francophonie, adopted in 1997: its highest authority is the Summit of the Francophonie; its keystone the Secretary General of the Francophonie, a position held by Louise Mushikiwabo.

The OIF implements multilateral Francophone cooperation alongside the Parliamentary Assembly of the Francophonie (APF) and four operators: the Agence Universitaire de the Francophonie (AUF), TV5MONDE, the International Association of Francophone Mayors (AIMF) and Senghor University in Alexandria.

The Francophonie has the following missions:

  • Promote the French language and cultural and linguistic diversity
  • Promote peace, democracy and human rights
  • Support education, training, higher education and research
  • Develop economic cooperation in the service of sustainable development